webinar register page

Webinar banner
International Colloquium on Shock Waves Session 3
The Local Organising Committee for the 33rd International Symposium on Shock Waves is pleased to present the International Colloquium on Shock Waves (ICSW) in the first week of December 2021.

Whilst this year’s symposium, ISSW33, had to be cancelled due to travel restrictions associated with COVID-19, the Local Organising Committee will instead coordinate six seminars from eminent researchers on topics related to shock waves, including hypersonic boundary layer transition measurements, numerical simulation of reactive flows, electric supersonic and hypersonic propulsion, rotating detonation engine flight testing, manipulating hydrodynamic instabilities, and ignition of aluminium particles in a shock tube.

All ICSW sessions will occur on Zoom and are free of charge. Prior registration on Zoom is recommended to receive updates and to avoid missing out if sessions reach capacity.

The ICSW consists of three separate plenary events between 6 and 10 December 2021. These events have been scheduled at different times of the day such that at least two sessions should occur at convenient times for participants in all parts of the world. Each session is three hours in duration and includes two plenary presentations from research leaders in the shock waves community.

The program of this session is:

Presentation 1:

"On manipulation of hydrodynamic instabilities of shocked gas-layer" by Professor Xisheng Luo, University of Science and Technology of China

ISWI Awards Ceremony:

Professor Gopalan Jagadeesh, Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Bangalore

Presentation 2:

"The Shock-Flame Complex – Its Occurrence and Importance in High-Speed Reactive Flows" by Professor Elaine Oran, Texas A&M University

This is the third session of the ICSW. Registration links for the other sessions can be found below:

First session: https://uqz.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_8nV8str3R3iF-1WP1JBwFw

Second session: https://uqz.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_tc3xhjMkS6O9H-kxwcos4A

Dec 10, 2021 10:00 PM in Brisbane

Webinar logo
* Required information


Professor Luo Xisheng
Professor, Department of Modern Mechanics @University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China
Dr. Xisheng Luo is professor of fluid mechanics at the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC). He received his Bachelor degree and Master degree in USTC at 1994 and 1997, respectively. After two years teaching in USTC, he went to Eindhoven University of Technology and received the Doctor degree in Fluid Mechanics in 2004. Then he has worked in the Shock Wave laboratory of Aachen University as a postdoc for four years. In 2008 he returned back to USTC and was appointed as a full professor. His research interest includes high-speed flow and interfacial instability. His research team developed new method for generating convergent shock and extended soap film technique for interface formation. The work of the team led by Dr. Luo has published more than 20 JFM paper and 1 PRL paper on the interfacial instability induced by shock wave.
Professor Gopalan Jagadeesh
Professor of Aerospace Engineering @Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
Prof. Gopalan Jagadeesh is currently working as a professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Bangalore, India. He is the Founder Chairman of Centre of Excellence in Hypersonics, IISc, Bangalore. He is also the Founder Director of Super- wave Technology Pvt. Ltd. a company formed with equity participation from IISc to commercialize several of his discoveries related to shock waves. Prof. Jagadeesh is one of the leading researchers in Hypersonic Aerothermodynamics and shock wave propagation in complex fluids, which are the most advanced fields of research relevant to space, defense and terrestrial applications. He has published over 300 papers in peer reviewed International Journals, conferences and edited 3 books. He has TWENTY-FIVE PATENTS on various discoveries related to Shock Waves and hypersonic flow control. He is currently the President of the International Shock Wave Institute and the also the Society for Shock Wave Research India.
Professor Elaine Oran
O’Donnell Foundation Chair and Professor @Department of Aerospace Engineering, Texas A&M University, USA
Elaine S. Oran is O’Donnell Foundation Chair and Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University. Previously she was the A. James Clark Distinguished Professor and the Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor at the University of Maryland and the Senior Scientist for Reactive Flow Physics at the Naval Research Laboratory. She is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering, an AIAA Honorary Fellow, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Combustion Institute, the APS, ASME, and SIAM. She received the Combustion Institute Zeldovich Gold Medal and the APS Fluid Dynamics Prize. Her research interests include chemically and nuclear reactive flows, turbulence, numerical analysis, high-performance computing, shocks, and rarefied gases, with applications to combustion, propulsion, and explosions. Her most recent efforts involve developing a large-scale experimental facility to study fundamental questions in shock interactions and detonations.
Dr Chris James
ARC DECRA Research Fellow @The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Dr Chris James is an ARC DECRA Research Fellow in the Centre for Hypersonics at the University of Queensland (UQ). He completed his PhD in the Centre for Hypersonics examining how to simulate radiating giant planet entry flows in the X2 expansion tube under. During his PhD he enrolled in a cotutelle program with Centrale-Suplélec in Paris, France, and after being awarded an Eiffel Scholarship by the French government, he passed a year on exchange in Paris, France performing radiation simulations to support his experimental work. Post PhD he was employed in the Centre for Hypersonics helping to develop the X3R reflected shock tunnel, while also supervising and conducting expansion tube research on the X2 expansion tube. He was awarded an Australian Research Council DECRA early career fellowship to study Mars return conditions with heated test models at UQ over the next several years. He was the 2020 recipient of the UQ EAIT Faculty Early Career Researcher Award.
Dr Tristan Vanyai
Postdoctoral Research Fellow @The University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia
Tristan Vanyai moved to Brisbane in 2012 to complete a PhD at The University of Queensland, analysing supersonic combustion engines using laser-based optical techniques in the T4 Reflected Shock Tunnel. His research focuses on fundamentals of hypersonic propulsion through the scramjet cycle. Robust combustion within low intake compression scramjets is a key technology enabler for hypersonic accelerator vehicles, and can be achieved through utilising techniques such as thermal compression. Tristan hopes that by improving scramjet cycle efficiency through such fundamental research, we can make future satellite launch vehicles cheaper and more readily available.